Onwards and upwards

Bird Therapy as an all-round project has been moving from ‘strength-to-strength’ and I feel like it’s a good time to share some of the positive progress that I’ve been making.

Writing

I’ve written a few guest blogs which I’ve added to a new ‘guest blogs and articles’ tab on the homepage of this blog. I have also written an article for a well known nature publication which should go to print in May; more on that nearer the time. As far as my book goes I’ve now completed around half of it which is just over 150 pages worth. This has been an absolute labour of love since I started, especially as a full-time teacher, but a final product edges closer and closer.

Social Media and Publicity

The Bird Therapy Twitter page continues to be a positive outlet. I’ve started to post less and have learnt to accept that negative attention-seeking mass tweeting is not conducive to positive mental well-being.

I gave a 5 minute interview on Radio Norfolk in February which was really positive.The radio car picked me up from home and we went to Sparham Pools NWT for a ‘site’ interview, which was great.

I fell asleep and missed a golden opportunity to be on BBC breakfast news and 5live, however Paul Brook, who also writes about mental health and birding, spoke about the topic and was awesome! He also gave Bird Therapy a mention which was great.

I’ve also been invited to have a stand and do some ‘pop-up’ speaking at an event in Cambridge called ‘Earth Optimism’, more info on the event here; http://www.cambridgeconservation.org/earthoptimism/

The Real Bird Therapy
For a long time now, I’ve been planning a way to put Bird Therapy to practice. For the past year I’ve been researching, meeting with various parties, collating data and finally I’m confident in the plan I’ve put together. In the summer I’ll be facilitating my first therapeutic birdwatching sessions and will soon be promoting the work I will be doing more widely. There are also some interesting collaborations in the pipeline!

T-shirts

I had some lovely Bird Therapy t-shirts made through a website called mercht. You don’t make a great deal from it but I managed to sell 17 shirts and put a little bit of funds into the project coffers. I started another print run which ends in 7 days and if anyone is interested here’s the link; https://www.mercht.com/c/birdtherapy3

One thought on “Onwards and upwards

Leave a Reply

